Each year, the staff awards recognise those who exemplify the Faculty of Medicine’s guiding principles – our leaders, collaborators, innovators and those who provide excellent service.

The 2017 awards were presented at the inaugural Gala dinner.

The Examsoft Team from the Office of Medical Education were named Collaborators of the Year, for their vision and tenacity in successfully rolling out electronic exams – improving the experience for more than 1000 students while reducing the administrative workload. Commendations were awarded to the BeUpstanding Team from the School of Public Health, and Wesley Fisk and Carl Stephan from the School of Biomedical Sciences Body Donor Program.

The Innovators of the Year award was presented to the Critical Care Research Group from The Prince Charles Hospital Northside Clinical Unit.  Their Open Heart project aims to develop a low-cost device to  make treatment for heart failure more accessible within Australia and overseas. The Faculty Marketing and Communications team received a commendation. 

The Service Excellence Award went to the Faculty’s Human Resources team, which has undergone monumental change in 2017, and continues to provide exceptional service, including to staff and academics titleholders – recruiting to more than 105 positions this year. The School of Biomedical Sciences Student Services Team was awarded a commendation.

Cerebral palsy researcher Professor Ros Boyd is the Faculty’s Leader of the Year. Ros has led innovative proposals to secure more than $35 million in funding, while mentoring the next generation of clinician researchers.

Second year medical students nominated Amica Shrader, from the Mater Clinical Unit, our Leader of the Future for professional staff. The award recognises her efforts to be a friendly, reliable, respectful, and professional point of contact for students.  Scott Macintryre from the School of Public Health received a commendation.

The Leader of the Future Award for academic staff was won by Dr Jason Steel from Greenslopes Clinical School, who leads one of Queenland's only gene therapy research groups, and has established a track record for world class expertise, inspirational leadership and quality mentoring.

Congratulations to our 2017 Faculty of Medicine award recipients, finalists and nominees.