We proudly acknowledge that high quality education and research in medicine, biomedical sciences and public health would not be possible without the tireless work of our hospital and clinic-based health professionals. These health professionals may be registrars in teaching hospitals, eminent specialists in private practice, or experienced general practitioners who play a vital role in primary care.

They are vital in training the next generation of doctors and health professionals. To recognise the work of these hardworking health professionals, the Faculty awards individuals with academic titles.

Every day, our Academic Title Holders supervise research students, mentor up and coming junior researchers, and take on hours of research activity in their own time to find better ways of treating patients.

More than 2,600 Queensland doctors do this special work on behalf of UQ every day.

Next time you visit your GP or specialist, take a second look to see if they are hold a title other than doctor (eg. Professor) - or look for a small Health at UQ pin on their lanyard. These are two small clues to let you know your doctor is an Academic Title Holder.

New and existing applications for academic titles are welcomed. These titles are assessed by the relevant school leaders and committees and awarded on a three year basis to professionals who make significant contributions to the University.

We thank our Academic Title Holders for being an integral part of medical education and research at The University of Queensland.

6. Contacts

General contacts

UQ Contacts Emails Numbers Websites
Faculty of Medicine Marketing med.marketing@uq.edu.au 0733 655 088 medicine.uq.edu.au
Faculty of Medicine Academic Title Holders med.academictitles@uq.edu.au 0733 466 006 medicine.uq.edu.au/alumni-and-community/academic-title-holders
School of Public Health   0733 464 627 sph.uq.edu.au 
School of Biomedical Sciences   0733 651 340 biomedical-sciences.uq.edu.au/
Mater Medical Research Institute - UQ   0731 632 555 research.mater.org.au
UQ Diamantina Institute   0734 437 030 di.uq.edu.au
Centre for Preclinical Drug Development   0733 469 933 cipdd.centre.uq.edu.au
Executive Dean med.execdean@uq.edu.au    
Faculty Executive Manager med.fem@uq.edu.au    
Associate Dean (Academic) med.ada@uq.edu.au    
Associate Dean (Research) med.adr@uq.edu.au    
International Students study@uq.edu.au    
Advancement med.advancement@uq.edu.au    
Research med.research@uq.edu.au    
Clinical Research Liaison Officers med.research.ath@uq.edu.au    
Senior Recruitment and Health Partnerships med.srhp@uq.edu.au     
Faculty Reception – Oral Health Centre med.reception@uq.edu.au    
Faculty Reception - Mayne Medical Building med.reception2@uq.edu.au    

Clinical unit/school contacts

PAH Southside Clinical Unit
A/Prof Ruth Hubbard - Head r.hubbard1@uq.edu.au 0734 438 043  
Anna Efstathiadou - Executive Assistant PASouthsideCS@som.uq.edu.au 0734 436 903  
Heather Moore - Clinical Unit Team Leader PASouthsideCS@som.uq.edu.au 0734 438 037  
Greenslopes Clinical Unit
Prof Michael Whitby - Head m.whitby1@uq.edu.au or greenslopescs@som.uq.edu.au 0733 460 601 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/clinical-schools/school-clinical-medicine/clinical-units/greenslopes
Ann Candy - Clinical Unit Team Leader a.candy@uq.edu.au or csso_gs@uq.edu.au or greenslopescs@som.uq.edu.au 0733 460 600 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/clinical-schools/school-clinical-medicine/clinical-units/greenslopes
Kerryn Morris - Student Coordinator/PA to Head k.morris2@uq.edu.au or greenslopesCS@som.uq.edu.au 0733 460 601 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/clinical-schools/school-clinical-medicine/clinical-units/greenslopes
St Lucia Clinical Unit
Dr Matthew Brandt  - Head m.brandt@uq.edu.au    
Amarjeet Kaur - Clinical Unit Team Leader med.stlucia@uq.edu.au 0733 655 519  
Sunshine Coast Clinical Unit
A/Prof Steven Coverdale - Head s.coverdale@uq.edu.au 075202 0333  
Sam Miles – Clinical Unit Team Leader s.miles2@uq.edu.au 075202 0333  
Judith Walmsley – Student Coordinator j.walmsley1@uq.edu.au 075202 0333  

Nicole Heidemann – Student Coordinator

n.heidemann@uq.edu.au 075202 0333  
Mater Clinical Unit
Prof David McIntyre – Head MaterCS@som.uq.edu.au 0731 633 641  
Sian Gillinder – Clinical Unit Team Leader csso_mater@uq.edu.au 0731 633 642  
Ipswich Clinical Unit
Prof Stephen Brierley – Head s.brierley@uq.edu.au 0738 109 705  
Judy James – Clinical Unit Team Leader ipswichCS@som.uq.edu.au 0738 109 704  
Mardelene Grobbelaar – Student Coordinator ipswichCS@som.uq.edu.au 0738 109 705  
Northside Clinical Unit
Prof Ian Yang – Head i.yang@uq.edu.au 0731 395 050  
Morgan Wright – Clinical Unit Team Leader morgan.wright@uq.edu.au 0731 394 801  
Denise Schultz – Student Coordinator TPCH d.schultz@uq.edu.au 0731 394 381  
Megan Moses – Student Coordinator TPCH m.moses@uq.edu.au 0731 394 810  
Mark Livett – Student Coordinator Redcliffe Hospital m.livett@uq.edu.au 0738 837 717  
Liz de Boer – Student Coordinator Caboolture Hospital l.deboer@uq.edu.au 0754 338 822  
Primary Care Clinical Unit
DGP Administrator dgpadmin@uq.edu.au 0733 46 5136 medicine.uq.edu.au
Heather McMaster – Administrative Coordinator, GP Rotations gprotation@uq.edu.au 0733 655 260 medicine.uq.edu.au
Gillian Vey – Personal Assistant, Director Primary Care Research g.vey@uq.edu.au 0733 655 379 medicine.uq.edu.au
Robyn Wessling – Personal Assistant, Head Primary Care Clinical Unit r.wessling@uq.edu.au 0733 465 137 medicine.uq.edu.au
Kim Wicks – Administrative Coordinator, MIS Stream C k.wicks@uq.edu.au 0733 465 146 medicine.uq.edu.au
Royal Brisbane Clinical Unit
Dr Wendy Findlay – Head w.findlay@uq.edu.au 0733 465 154 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/school-of-clinical-medicine/royal-brisbane
Kathryn Reid – Clinical Unit Team Leader csso_rbwh@uq.edu.au 0733 655 258 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/school-of-clinical-medicine/royal-brisbane
Marcelle Moran – Executive Assistant uqmmora1@im.uq.edu.au

 

0733 465 273  
UQRCS Rockhampton Clinical Unit
Ass/Prof David Shaker - Director uqrcs.rockhampton@uq.edu.au 0749 992 999 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Ass/Prof Peter Thompson – Deputy Director uqrcs.rockhampton@uq.edu.au 0749 992 999 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
UQRCS Toowoomba Clinical Unit
Professor Sarah Strasser – Head s.strasser@uq.edu.au 0427 494 620 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Dr George Tucker – Director george.tucker@uq.edu.au 0746 339 710 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Dr Sheila Cook – Deputy Director s.cook1@uq.edu.au 0746 339 707 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Ass/Prof Sri Kondalsamy-Chennakesavan – Director Research s.kondalsamychennakes@uq.edu.au 0746 315 457 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Donna Georgeson – Manager –South West QLD Region donna.georgeson@uq.edu.au 0746 339 703 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
UQRCS Bundaberg Clinical Unit
Dr Therese Ryan – Deputy Director uqrcs.bundaberg@uq.edu.au 0741 301 900 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
UQRCS Hervey Bay Clinical Unit
Dr Riitta Partanen – Director s.strasser@uq.edu.au 0427 494 620 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Dr David Johnson – Deputy Director george.tucker@uq.edu.au 0746 339 710 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Dr Chukwuemeka Nwufoh – Deputy Director s.cook1@uq.edu.au 0746 339 707 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/rural-clinical-school
Ochsner Clinical School
Courtney Zellner - Coordinator courtney.zellner@ochsner.org (+1) 504 842 3144 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/ochsner-clinical-school
Ass/Prof Leonardo Seoane – Head lseoane@ochsner.org or l.seoane@uq.edu.au (+1) 504 842 2526 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/ochsner-clinical-school
Ass/Prof Mark Coulthard - Head of Academic Discipline Paediatrics & Child Health paediatricsandchildhealth@uq.edu.au 0730 684 676 medicine-program.uq.edu.au/school-of-clinical-medicine#units