Faculty staff awarded for excellence

7 Jun 2019

Congratulations to members of the Faculty of Medicine who were recognised for their outstanding service at the annual UQ Awards for Excellence.

Faculty Executive Manager Marni Jacoby won the Excellence in Leadership award, and Ms Christina Balmori, the Australian Longitudinal Study on Women's Health Team, Medical Student Support Strategy Team and Queensland Centre for Gynaecological Cancer Research received special commendations.

Marni was awarded for her work in overseeing a reinvigorated staff culture that has led to positive re-engagement across the Faculty’s schools and units.

Executive Dean Professor Geoff McColl commended the recipients for their dedicated service.

“Congratulations to Marni and all those who represented the Faculty of Medicine at this year’s awards,” Professor McColl said.

“These awards acknowledge the cumulative hard work and dedication of our staff who come together across multiple disciplines to strive towards one common goal.

“Marni and colleagues embody the proud values of the Faculty of Medicine and their passion and enthusiasm should serve as an inspiration to us all.”

The winners of the UQ Awards for Excellence for 2019.

Marni said she was humbled to be recognised by her peers among such high-calibre nominations.

“I am very proud to have been recognised with this award.  To be nominated for this award by members of my team was reward enough, but to win definitely represents a career highlight for me,” she said.

“This award and in particular, the reference to ‘overseeing a reinvigorated staff culture that led to staff re-engagement’ could only occur via a whole of team commitment. I couldn’t have done this on my own.

“Under the guidance of the Executive Dean, we have already seen the positive impact of a courageous, value-led leadership approach.  

“After an extended period of organisational change, I’m confident that the Faculty and its organisational units are now well-placed to achieve tangible strategic gains in the near term.”

There were a record 121 nominations this year, to the delight of the Awards Selection Panel.

Excellence in Leadership award winners:

Marni Jacoby, Faculty Executive Manager, Faculty of Medicine. Ms Jacoby has overseen a reinvigorated staff culture that led to staff re-engagement. She inspires and encourages staff to strive for excellence.

Special commendations:

For Leadership – The Australian Longitudinal Study on Women's Health Team
Professor Gita Mishra, Dr Hsiu-Wen Chan, Ms Christine Coleman, Professor Annette Dobson, Ms Megan Ferguson, Mr David Fitzgerald, Ms Leonie Gemmell, Ms Helen Gray, Dr Colleen Loos and Associate Professor Leigh Tooth.

For Service – Ms Christina Balmori

For Service – QCGC Research
Ms Vanessa Behan, Ms Emma Capaldi, Ms Trudi Cattley, Ms Lisa Harrold, Ms Kerry Millgate, Ms Danielle Mills, Professor Andreas Obermair, Professor David Paterson, Ms Vanessa Taylor.

For Innovation – The Medical Student Support Strategy Team
Ms Keira Anderson, Professor Stuart Carney and Ms Andrea Strachan.

See the individual award photos.

Media: Faculty of Medicine Communications, med.media@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 5118, +61 436 368 746.