The Faculty of Medicine (FoM) combines medical education with two research intensive schools, three clinical medical schools and five hospital-based institutes and centres. The Faculty of Medicine Early Career Research Committee (FoM-ECR) is a faculty-wide committee representing (self-identified) ‘early career’ research, teaching and research and teaching-focused academics in the Faculty of Medicine

The FoM-ECR was established on 15th June 2017 to:

  • Provide cohesiveness and collaboration for ECRs within the different Schools, Centres and Institutes of the Faculty
  • Facilitate and advance ECR professional development by organising professional development events (e.g. workshops and panel discussions)
  • Facilitate and provide opportunities for ECRs to interact across the Faculty and foster collaborations
  • Develop online platforms for distributing ECR relevant information and events (e.g. ECR page on Faculty intranet)
  • Act as contact point and liaison for ECR key issues

Meet some of our ECRs

Grant Writing Workshop

It takes a village to make a grant seminar

2019 UQ ECR Grant 

A total of $306,000 in funding was awarded for the 2019 UQ ECR Grant from the Faculty of Medicine. Congratulations to all our awardees.

Read more

Tracey BjorkmanDr Tracey Bjorkman
Chair
Org Unit: UQCCR
Email: t.bjorkman@uq.edu.au

Bushra NasirDr Bushra Nasir
Vice Chair
Org Unit: Rural Clinical School
Email: b.nasir@uq.edu.au

Seth CheethamDr Seth Cheetham
Secretary
Org Unit: MRI-UQ
Email: seth.cheetham@mater.uq.edu.au


School of Public Health

Bronwyn ClarkDr Bronwyn Clark

Email: b.clark3@uq.edu.au

 

Judith DeanDr Judith Dean

Email: j.dean4@uq.edu.au

 

Natasha ReidDr Natasha Reid

Email: n.reid1@uq.edu.au

 


Child Health Research Centre

Natasha ReidDr Natasha Reid

Email: n.reid1@uq.edu.au

 

Abdullah TariqueDr Abdullah Tarique

Email: a.tarique@uq.edu.au

 

Kartik IyerDr Kartik Iyer

Email: k.iyer@uq.edu.au

 


School of Biomedical Sciences

Sherry WuDr Sherry Wu

Email: sherry.wu@uq.edu.au

 

Felicity HanDr Felicity Han

Email: f.han@uq.edu.au

 


Centre for Health Services Research

Helen HaydonDr Helen Haydon

Email: h.haydon@uq.edu.au

 

Cheneal PuljeevicDr Cheneal Puljevic

Email: c.puljevic@uq.edu.au

 


UQ Diamantina Institute

Dr Tina Liang

Email: x.liang@uq.edu.au


MRI-UQ

Dr Ran Wang

Email: ran.wang@mater.uq.edu.au

Linda GalloDr Linda Gallo (UQ EMCR rep)

Email: linda.gallo@mater.uq.edu.au

 


UQ Centre for Clinical Research

Kirat ChandDr Kirat Chand

Email: k.chand@uq.edu.au

 

 

Many of the skills you learn as a PhD student are still relevant during the early stages of your academic career. Below are links to several sites that you may still find helpful as an ECR. The university also offers staff development programs specifically designed for ECRs to assist with everything from grant writing and research supervision to guidelines on authorship and how to manage a team (and even finance!).

Mentoring is key to navigating your career path and is part of every stage of your academic career. And its not just about the mentoring you receive or from who, but learning how you can become an effective mentor and help guide the next generation of ECR UQ academics.

To be added to the weekly Faculty Research Alert please email med.research@uq.edu.au.

Access to the Faculty of Medicine Research Alert page is available by logging in to the intranet.

Commonly accessed schemes

Funding databases

These are valuable to search for appropriate grants. The UQ Medical Library provides courses on making the most of these funding databases.