The Faculty of Medicine has a research office that is dedicated to supporting our research staff and higher degree by research students. The Research Strategy and Support office is led by Associate Dean (Research), Professor Elizabeth Eakin, with support from research partnerships managers, administrative, and external relations staff.

Working with the Faculty Research Committee and Faculty Higher Degree by Research Committee, the research office works to:

  • Provide advice to staff on external research funding schemes, strategies for developing competitive funding applications and research training (HDR students).
  • Identify, cultivate and profile the research strengths of the Faculty
  • Facilitate integration across the organisational units that make up the Faculty
  • Facilitate the establishment of new partnerships with other research entities, funding bodies and industry
  • Develop research and research training strategies to enhance the research performance and profile of the Faculty
  • Manage a number of internal and some external research funding schemes.
  • Provide a network of support for research and higher degree by research student administrative staff in Schools, Centres and Institutes

Research Development Officers

School/Centre/Institute

Name

Phone

Email

Child Health Research Centre, (CHRC)

Dr Lisa Tom

3346 5315

med.research.chrc@uq.edu.au

Centre for Health Services Research, (CHSR)

Mrs Alice Greenwood

3346 5311

med.research.chsr@uq.edu.au  

Clinical Schools (SoCM and RuralCS)

Dr Lisa Tom

3069 7361

3365 5011

med.research.ath@uq.edu.au

School of Biomedical Sciences, (SBMS)

Ms Brittany Madden

3365 1348

med.research.sbms@uq.edu.au

School of Public Health, (SPH)

Mrs Cathy Swart

3365 5374

med.research.sph@uq.edu.au

UQ Centre for Clinical Research, (UQCCR)

Mrs Roheen Gill

3346 6071

med.research.uqccr@uq.edu.au

UQ Diamantina Institute, (UQDI)

Mrs Kylie Hengst

3443 7024

med.research.uqdi@uq.edu.au

Research Development Managers

School/Centre/Institute

Name

Phone

Email

Child Health Research Centre, (CHRC)

Dr Megan Grace

3365 5425

megan.grace@uq.edu.au

Centre for Health Services Research, (CHSR)

Dr Madonna Devaney

3176 7341

m.devaney@uq.edu.au

Dr Murray Hargrave (Digital Health)

3176 4894

m.hargrave@uq.edu.au

Clinical Schools (SoCM and RuralCS)

Dr Megan Grace

3365 5425

megan.grace@uq.edu.au

School of Biomedical Sciences, (SBMS)

Dr Ulrike Siebeck

3365 2603

u.siebeck@uq.edu.au

School of Public Health, (SPH)

Ms Kate Gadenne

3365 5374

k.gadenne@uq.edu.au

UQ Centre for Clinical Research, (UQCCR)

Ms Cathy Wardius

3346 5016

c.wardius@uq.edu.au

UQ Diamantina Institute, (UQDI)

Dr Laura Garcia Carrascosa

3443 7052

lgcarrascosa@uq.edu.au

Faculty research support

Faculty Research Support

 

Name

Phone

Email

Faculty Office

Mrs Anne Louise Bulloch, Manager of Research and Research Training

3346 5441

a.bulloch@uq.edu.au

Dr Sarah Flaim, Senior Research Partnerships Manager

3346 5369 s.flaim@uq.edu.au

Ms Grace Raki, Administration Officer (Research)

3346 5315

med.research@uq.edu.au

Ms Lauren Angel, Executive Assistant to Associate Dean (Research)

3346 5305

med.adr@uq.edu.au

Research Partnerships Managers

Dr Sarah Flaim, Senior Research Partnerships Manager, leads the Faculty of Medicine’s team of Research Partnerships Managers. She can be contacted at s.flaim@uq.edu.au

Dr Sarah Flaim

Senior Research Partnerships Manager

s.flaim@uq.edu.au

+61 7 334 65369

Richard Haas

CHRC, MRI-UQ, CHQ-CU

r.haas@uq.edu.au

+61 7 334 65358

Zep Yaltirakli

UQDI, OMD, OME, Ochsner, CHSR

z.yaltirakli@uq.edu.au

+61 7 334 65316

Nyree Divitini

SBMS, SPH, AKTN

n.divitini@uq.edu.au

+61 7 334 65360

Sabine Sand

UQCCR

s.sand1@uq.edu.au

+61 7 334 65371

Tanya Quesnel

SOCM (RB-CU, Mater-CU, PAH-CU, Greenslopes-CU, Ipswich-CU, Sunshine Coast-CU, Toowomba-CU, St Lucia-CU, TPCH), RCS

Monitoring generic box, Student IP Deeds

t.quesnel@uq.edu.au

+61 7 334 65320

med.rpms@uq.edu.au

*Abbreviations: CHQ CU; Children's Health Queensland Clinical Unit, OMD; The Office of the Medical Dean Clinical Unit, PCH N CU - Prince Charles Hospital Northside Clinical Unit, RB CU Royal Brisbane Clinical Unit, PAH-S CU; Princess Alexandra Hospital Southside Clinical Unit, OME; Office of Medical Education

Higher Degree by Research

Research Committees

Faculty of Medicine

Professor Elizabeth Eakin (Chair)

3346 5305

med.adr@uq.edu.au

Child Health Research Centre

Dr Leanne Sakzewski

3069 7345

l.sakzewski1@uq.edu.au

Centre for Health Services Research

Professor Len Gray

3176 5530

len.gray@uq.edu.au

Mater Research Institute – UQ

Associate Professor Allison Pettit

3443 7623

allison.pettit@mater.uq.edu.au

School of Clinical Medicine

Professor Paul Colditz

3346 6014

p.colditz@uq.edu.au

School of Biomedical Sciences

Professor Elizabeth Coulson

3365 9022

e.coulson@uq.edu.au

School of Public Health

Associate Professor Genevieve Healy

3365 5039

g.healy@sph.uq.edu.au

Rural Clinical School

Associate Professor Srinivas Kondalsamy-Chennakesavan

4616 5494

s.kondalsamychennakes@uq.edu.au

UQ Centre for Clinical Research

Professor Jason Roberts

3346 5032

j.roberts2@uq.edu.au

UQ Diamantina Institute

Associate Professor Raymond Steptoe

3443 6959

r.steptoe@uq.edu.au