Faculty welcomes new Professors

9 September 2019

UQ’s Faculty of Medicine has appointed 25 Professors in recognition of their leading contributions to medical research and education.

Clinicians who are Academic Title Holders (ATHs) play a vitally important role in developing future health leaders and advancing world-class research at the University.

Executive Dean Professor Geoff McColl said he welcomed the new Professors and their diverse skillset to the Faculty.

“Clinical professorships are based on outstanding leadership in fostering or facilitating clinical excellence in teaching, research, service and engagement,” Professor McColl said.

“The appointment of 25 Professors over the past year demonstrates the extremely high calibre of clinicians who have extended their knowledge and expertise to the next generation of students in our Faculty.

“This passionate group of clinicians ensure we remain at the forefront of health education and research through their clinical expertise, leadership and professional reputation.”

Congratulations to the following ATH Professors appointed to the Faculty since 2018.


Professor Ian Bennett General Surgery
Professor Daniel Chambers Respiratory and Sleep Medicine
Professor Mark Davies General Paediatrics
Professor Brett Emmerson Psychiatry
Professor Carmel Hawley Nephrology
Professor Amanda Henderson Nursing
Professor Alan Jardine General Medicine
Professor Lizbeth Kenny Radiation Oncology
Professor Helen Liley General Paediatrics
Professor George Loss Jr General Surgery
Professor Christopher  Maher Urogynaecology
Professor Paula Marlton Haematology
Professor Julie McGaughran Clinical Genetics
Professor Warwick Middleton Psychiatry
Professor Christopher Pyke General Surgery
Professor Clifford Rosendahl General Practice
Professor Mark Ross Orthopaedic Surgery
Professor Greg Scalia Cardiology
Professor Euan Walpole Medical Oncology


Professor Joseph Biggio Maternal-Fetal Medicine
Professor Hernan Bazan Vascular Surgery
Professor Ari Cohen General Surgery
Professor Louise Cullen Emergency Medicine
Professor Steven Deitelzweig General Medicine
Professor Michael Smith Emergency Medicine