How do we work together to create a healthier, more equitable and mutually supportive world?

This cross-disciplinary, big-picture discussion is the last of our series of three international online events exploring the role of compassion in the New Normal. Hosted by the award-winning ABC/SBS journalist Sana Qadar, this panel will focus on ways in which we might work together to create a more compassionate world.

Our panel of experts are:

Peter SingerPeter Singer AC is Professor of Bioethics at Princeton University. He has written, co-authored, edited or co-edited more than forty books, including ‘Animal Liberation’, ‘Practical Ethics’, ‘The Life You Can Save’, and ‘The Most Good You Can Do’. His writings have inspired both the animal rights movement and effective altruism, and he is the founder of the charity The Life You Can Save.

Liz GrantLiz Grant is Assistant Principal (Global Health) at the University of Edinburgh, Professor of Global Health and Development, Director of the Global Health Academy, and Co-Director the university’s Global Compassion Initiative. Her research spans the fields of planetary health, palliative care in contexts of poverty and conflict, and compassion as the value base of the Sustainable Development Goals.

Paul GilbertPaul Gilbert OBE is Professor of Clinical Psychology and Director of the Centre for Compassion Research and Training at the University of Derby, honorary visiting Professor at The University of Queensland, and President of the Compassionate Mind Foundation, a charity promoting wellbeing through the scientific understanding and application of compassion. He has published twenty-one books, the latest being ‘Living Like Crazy’.


This event is presented free of charge. Please register your attendance by 5.00PM (UTC +10) on the Monday prior to each panel.

A webcast link will be sent to you by email prior to the event.

Streaming times by time zone (UTC to UTC +13)

Tuesday 16 and 23 February; 2 March
 
start
end
New Zealand
NZDT
21:00
22:30
NSW; Victoria; Tasmania
AEDT
19:00
20:30
Queensland
UTC +10
18:00
19:30
Japan; Korea
UTC +9
17:00
18:30
WA; Singapore; Philippines; China
UTC +8
16:00
15:30
Vietnam; Jakarta
UTC +7
15:00
16:30
India
UTC +5.5
13:30
15:00
Moscow
UTC +3
11:00
12:30
Eastern Europe; South Africa
UTC +2
10:00
11:30
Western Europe
UTC +1
9:00
10:30
UK
UTC
8:00
9:30

Repeat streaming for the Americas

Wednesday 17 and 24 February; 3 March
 
start
end
São Paolo; Montevideo; Buenos Aires
UTC -3
20:00
21:30
EST; Toronto; NYC; Bogotá; Lima
UTC -5
18:00
19:30
CST; Winnipeg; Houston, Mexico City
UTC -6
17:00
18:30
MST; Edmonton; Denver
UTC -7
16:00
17:30
PST; Vancouver; Los Angeles
UTC -8
15:00
16:30

About Compassion and the New Normal

Sana Qadar
Sana Qadar

The Faculty of Medicine in partnership with the Compassionate Mind Research Group of the School of Psychology presents Compassion and the New Normal with Sana Qadar.

2020 began with drought and bushfire, rapidly segueing into global pandemic. Meanwhile, movements such as #MeToo, Black Lives Matter and Extinction Rebellion highlight the most basic flaws in our sociopolitical systems, and a tiny minority rich elite continue to extract more and more wealth to themselves forcing the majority into precarity and poverty. In such conditions there is much need for compassion: for ways to rethink the how we live and reimagine the structures by which we share the planet.

As 2021 begins, we present a series of international, online discussions hosted by the award-winning ABC/SBS journalist Sana Qadar. Each expert panel will explore the important role of compassion in shaping the new normal: in our communities, in society and globally. Panellists include the celebrated philosopher, Peter Singer; the co-founder of Compassion in Politics, Jennifer Nadel; the CEO of Youngcare, Anthony Ryan; author of ‘How Compassion Made Us Human’, Penny Spikins; and the president of the Compassionate Mind Foundation, Paul Gilbert. These panels are presented free of charge, please register to receive the webcast streaming link.