UQ’s Faculty of Medicine celebrates 2016 Excellence Awards

19 Oct 2016

Excellence in research, change leadership, engagement and innovation have featured at The University of Queensland’s Faculty of Medicine Excellence Awards.

The event acknowledged 15 individual award winners for the positive impacts made through their diligence and commitment to the lives of patients, students, colleagues and the general community.

Academic and professional staff came together to celebrate the achievements of their colleagues but were also treated to a scintillating guest presentation from documentarian, TV personality and science-buff Todd Sampson.

Sampson inspired the 400 guests with his presentation Brain Power which discussed brain plasticity, embracing the challenge of ageing and overcoming fear, as well as some of his science stunts.

Acting Executive Dean Professor Robyn Ward described nominees and all Faculty members as a shining light in medical research and education in Australia.

“I extend heartfelt congratulations to all nominees and our award winners and thank them for their continued efforts in refusing to accept the status quo and striving for academic and professional excellence,” Professor Ward said.

2016 Faculty of Medicine Excellence Award winners

Academic Staff

  • Senior Research Excellence Award: Professor Peter Soyer, for his resounding success as Director of the Dermatology Research Centre and his extensive publication record.
  • Early-Career Research Excellence Award: Dr Paul Gardiner for his capacity to generate outstanding research income, output and impact.
  • Leading Change and Excellence in Teaching and Learning Award: Dr Sheila Cook, for the development of an innovative Intern Readiness blended learning package for fourth year Medical Students at the Rural Clinical School.
  • Early-career Leading Change and Excellence in Teaching and Learning Award: Julie Bennet, for the development of a simulated scenario-based program involving Rural Clinical School third and fourth year medical students and high school students aspiring to be doctors.
  • Excellence in Research Supervision Award: Dr Kiarash Khosrotehrani, for his excellence as a practicing dermatologist, researcher and supervisor with a multidisciplinary approach to conducting research.
  • Academic Title Holder Excellence Award: Associate Professor Dan Chambers, for his remarkable achievement in securing two NHMRC Project grants in the 2015 round including one to fund the largest ever study of a cell therapy for a lung disease.
  • Young Alumni Excellence Award: Dr Ronald Carshon-Marsh, for dedication to improving the lives of others in his work, under the most challenging circumstances within Sierra Leone and internationally.
  • Excellence in Global Engagement Award: Dr Simon Reid, for his work in strengthening UQ’s internationalisation through teaching, research, programs and projects.
  • Pursuit of Excellence Award: Professor Ranjeny Thomas, for her work as an excellent mentor, female role model, and a pro-active collaborator and energetic team player who is guiding many early career and mid-career researchers.

Professional Staff

  • Pursuit of Excellence Award: Cheryl Connor, for her work as the School of Medicine’s financial analyst and as a highly respected and influential member of the school.
  • Rising Star Leadership Award: Mary Schneider, for her demonstrated exceptional capacity to contribute to positive culture within teams.
  • Excellence in Service Award: Kerryn Morris, for her success in increasing the number of international student placements to accommodate the high demand from partner   university students wishing to study medicine.
  • Excellence in Leadership Award: Greg Hafner, for his pivotal role in providing excellent leadership and promoting a positive culture within the UQ Diamantina Institute.
  • Culture Ambassador Award: Suzanne Reiger, for her ability to positively influence the office, and treat others with dignity and kindness especially during times of uncertainty.
  • Excellence in Innovation Award: Amarjeet Kaur, for revolutionising the approach to assigning Phase 2 medical students to clinical schools and destinations to reduce overtime and staff required to deliver the service for the school.

View images from the Faculty of Medicine Excellence Awards

Contact: Bernadette O’Connor, bernadette.oconnor@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 5118, 0431 533 209.